Aussies’ prominence of IPL’s Orange Cap


Aussies' prominence of IPL's Orange Cap

West Australian Marsh took home the Orange Cap in the inaugural IPL season to kick-start a near-decade of supremacy for Australian batsmen in the competition. The left-hander was 24 at the time and hitting the ball in addition to anybody in world cricket, as highlighted by a spectacular century, five fifties as well as 26 6s– every one of which helped take Punjab to within a game of the first-ever final.
2009: Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings, Australia).
572 runs in 12 matches.
Hayden made it 2 in a row for Australians in the IPL when the big-hitting opener showed that, in spite of having called time on his global job, he ransacked go to all parts throughout a tournament-high return of 572 perform at 52, with five half-centuries. Chennai reached the finals but, like Marsh’s side in ’08, fell one game except the decider.
2010: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians, India).
618 runs in 15 matches.
The Little Master might have been more than Two Decade into his global job however he stayed one of the most revered figure in globe cricket– and also a rather handy batsman, too. Tendulkar pipped Marsh’s IPL1 mark of 618 runs to lead all arrivals in ’10, in spite of just hitting three optimums throughout the period. His 5 half-centuries were critical in taking Mumbai all the way to the last, which they lost to Chennai.
2011: Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore, West Indies) 608 runs in 12 suits Jamaican heavy-hitter Gayle was an additional to take his team to the final with a spectacular streak of racking up, however where Sachin carved and caressed, the self-described ‘World Boss’ crashed and also ground. Gayle established a new benchmark for an IPL period in hammering not one, but 2 hundreds, getting rid of 600 runs and ending up ahead of a classy young Indian batsman called Virat Kohli.2012:

Chris Gayle (Royal Oppositions Bangalore, West Indies).
733 runs in 15 suits.
It ended up that 2011 was simply the warm-up for West Indian superstar Gayle, that removed the previous IPL document by more than 100 keep up a beast ’12 tournament. There was simply the one hundred amongst those runs– a ruthless 128no versus Delhi– yet no fewer compared to 7 fifties, as Gayle came to be the initial (as well as just) gamer to keep the Orange Cap, despite his side missing the finals.
2013: Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings, Australia).
733 in 16 matches.
Having retired from Test cricket in January of the very same year, ‘Mr Cricket’ revealed his thirst for runs was as pressing as ever before as he matched Gayle’s record-breaking 2012 return as well as made sure the Orange Cap was back on an Australian go to the first time because 2009. Chennai lost the last but Hussey had actually contributed in obtaining them there, balancing 52, striking at 129 and also striking 6 half-centuries.
Mike Hussey controlled in 2013// Getty.
Mike Hussey dominated in 2013// Getty.

2014: Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders).
660 runs in 16 suits.
India ‘keeper-batsman Uthappa became the very first batsman to put on the Orange Cap in a championship-winning side, confirming Mr Regular for KKR while doing so. Uthappa lugged the batting for the title victors, racking up 259 even more runs compared to his nearby teammate (Manish Pandey, that managed 401 runs) with 74 fours and 18 6s along the road.

See Also: Russell Westbrook ties NBA single-season triple-double document


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here